top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Burgundy & White

A new world we live in

We asked the Nokomis student body and staff to submit images and 10 word stories to answer prompts inspired by the world we are currently living in. Here are some of the responses.


Have any major life events occurred during COVID?


A sweet 16 isn't so sweet during a global pandemic


One Child got a permit; other got senior pictures done.


I started learning a new language


I moved and got a puppy!


There is no sports, no gym, and no personal trainer.


My cousin had a baby, and we moved.


Family trip to Bar Harbor to meet my brother’s girlfriend.


A wedding on Saturday and cooked a pig all day.



Parent battling cancer, settling into a new home, finding balance.


I began high school, but not as expected...

Mr. Neal and I enjoyed silly walks in my community.




 

Is there something that has happened very locally that you would like to share? Neighbors coming together, public art projects, quirky local events.


A new monument and ceremony in Plymouth for veterans


Made watercolor cards for every resident at Sanford Nursing Home


There were some craft fairs at the Hartland Firehouse


4th of July fireworks in Dexter a few weeks ago


JROTC has started, and we go on hikes with friends.


People made this thing called 610, it's a horseshoe game.


We had a power outage back in April.


Warriors cannot be silenced; we still run for a cause


New neighbors coming together twice a month for outdoor potlucks


We had a lot of family gatherings.


 

What coping strategies did you use during this quarantine? How did your routine change?

I didn't go to the store as much.


Meetings with colleagues reading poetry and chatting


Exercised more


Stayed 6 feet apart so I didn’t get Covid.


Listening to music and watching clouds & nature.


Living life while wearing a mask


Nothing really changed with my routine besides learning more things.


Going outside and being with nature more.


I did more science!


Youtube was one of the main coping sources for me.


Healthy routine. Lots of virtual game nights, yoga, and cooking!


Drowning with thoughts, I needed to repair with self-care


 

What one question do YOU wish you can have the answer to?


When will there be a global vaccine for normal life?


When will this end?


Why do we face these challenges in the world?


When will school go back to normal?


Will I live out my dreams?


 

Many of us are missing travel. Can you share a favorite ten-word travel story?


Missing when I went to New Hampshire


Going to North Carolina beaches


In 2018 I flew to FL for a cheerleading competition


8-hour drive to go camping with family outside Maine

Missing Bar Harbor campground, my favorite place to go.


I miss going to Boston. Boston was my favorite place.


Boston nights, broadway lights, city sights...I miss catching flights.


I was supposed to go to Boston


Going to out west


Singing Hotel California in India with folks from various places.


In fourth grade, I traveled to Kentucky for two weeks.


 

What fictional character do you wish could be here to help us navigate the current reality? What would they do?

Doctor Strange could turn back time


Captain America would lead us in the right direction


Pete's Dragon. He would just make everyone smile.


Wish I was Tracy from Project Power to heal anything.


Bugs Bunny would keep everyone positive because he is funny.


Katniss Everdeen would face the government and burn the system.


Dr. Who


Professor McGonagall from Harry Potter would make sure everyone cooperates


Captain Underpants--he will save the world


 

Is there a particular food that has been significant to you in the pandemic era?


Pizza--because I've always loved pizza with

my family


I have grown to love eating foreign foods


I have really been into anything sweet, like ice cream.


Bagels. They are good for any meal and are delicious.


Just food in general


MIcrowave food has been significant because of hot weather.

Steak, I ate a lot of that during quarantine


I’ve been craving some blackstrap and rice


The world became addicted to whipped coffee because of TikTok


Grandmother’s old recipe book was unearthed; connected through her food.


 


What do you want to be different about the world when this is all over?


We take less for granted, family, businesses, everything

The value of human connection. Be kind, helpful, and mindful


Perspectives about how others live


Practice good habits, so this doesn't happen again.


PEACE


No more masks


See friends


I want everyone to move on with their lives


To tell my kids about the craziness of 2020


When this ends, I never want to wear a mask.


A more scientific world


Thankful and appreciative of human connection and life’s beautiful wonders

145 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page