top of page
  • Writer's pictureCara Flannery

Finding balance in an unbalanced world: my "Mindfulness Journey"

Now more than ever, we are in a constant state of work. Yes, having technology so readily available is something to be appreciated, but at the same time, this creates a continuous flow of to-dos. Working from home has blurred the line between work and homelife, and it can feel like our entire day has become “work hours.” At times, it feels impossible to flip the off switch. Frankly, I feel guilt when I am being what could be considered unproductive. However, it is so important to practice mindfulness (especially at work) and taking time to just be.


Last month I made a promise to myself that I would make a valiant attempt to break out of the constant state of work. The very idea gave me anxiety and stress, and it still does at times. How will I get everything done?? What about all of the new projects I want to finish?? How will I get everything done well!?!?!?



The truth of the matter is that we are more productive and do our best work when we make mindfulness a part of our routine. Being a workaholic myself, I had to take a few baby steps.





 

Look at nature.

There are numerous scientific studies out there that support the benefits of observing nature, including increasing our energy and restoring focus --- both of which lead to better quality work. Yes, this is Maine, and sometimes Mother Nature likes to throw us a few curveballs. Instead of mumbling angrily to myself when catching a glimpse of early November snow waiting outside of my window this week, I instead took 60 seconds to watch. I observed the way it clung to the trees --- how it gently dusted the landscape. My annoyance faded, and I went about my morning.


Fortunately, I am blessed to have an office with a window, and I’ve been making a conscious effort to look outside for at least 60 seconds before I check my email. Every time. Better yet, go outside if you are able. Obviously this isn’t an option for all of us, especially during the 6 months of winter here in New England, but stepping outside for even as little as 60 seconds helps me to feel more relaxed and ready to get back to work. I’ll even sometimes take my coffee outside and enjoy the physical juxtaposition of warm and cold.


Don’t have a window or can’t get outside? Even looking at photos of nature has benefits and can reduce stress levels. (Don’t believe me? Here is one article. They cite their sources --- promise!)



 


Find helpful tech. tools.

Screens are becoming a huge part of our work in 2020, and I recently discovered Momentum: a Google Chrome extension (it’s compatible with Firefox and Microsoft Edge, too). This is a nifty extension that shows a beautiful nature photo (remember how I mentioned the benefits of looking at nature?) in any new tab you open, provides you with a daily mantra and inspirational quote, and helps you to get organized for the day. I love that Momentum forces me to think about what is most important for me to accomplish today with the focus feature. Before creating my Todo list for the day, Momentum asks me to identify my focus for the day. This forces me to decide what is most important, and I find it easier to accept any tasks on my list that are without a checkmark.





Turn off your notifications.

That’s right. Disable your Gmail when you go home. Those emails will be there for you the next work day.



“Sometimes the best training is to rest.” Cristiano Ronaldo


Make time for reflection.

Teachers are well aware of the power of reflection. So, why don’t we make time for this as adults? Taking time each day for reflection gives us an opportunity to solve problems and be creative. The manner in which we reflect might look different for each of us. For some, it might be a 10 minute walk. Others might prefer to do this through meditation or even journaling. I’ve been making an effort to journal with my daughter at home each night. At first it was really a means of getting her to practice her writing. My strong-willed second grader was not happy about the arrangement at first, and I decided to write with her. I mean, modeling is a powerful strategy, right? This was a win-win; she started to become excited about our nightly journals, and I found it to be therapeutic. We read our journals to each other and talk about our reflections, though we are both understanding if there are some private details we don’t want to read aloud.


 

Since making these small adjustments to my day, I’ve been feeling better emotionally, mentally, and physically. Not only that, but the quality and amount, surprisingly, of work I am able to accomplish each week has improved. There are other small adjustments I’ve been making to my workday, and I hope to share my “Mindfulness Journey” with you each month --- another means of reflection for me.



Is there a baby step above you might take this November? Have you tried one of these? Share your feedback and reflection --- which is one of the baby steps😲 --- in the comments!


39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page