top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Burgundy & White

Let's be thankful

It goes without saying that 2020 has been quite the year. Still, there is so much to be thankful for. We asked the Nokomis students and staff to reflect on gratitude, and here is what they had to say.

Describe your favorite moment of the day


My favorite moment of each day is when I arrive home and my two boys and dogs come running out to greet me. It always makes me feel so loved.


night time.


When me and my whole family sit down and have dinner.


My favorite moment of my daily life is being able to attend school whether online or in person.


My favorite moment of the day is just when I wake up. The day is full of promise and hope and I have no pain.


me not going back to bed during the morning


Right before Period 1 each day I have an opportunity to just talk to students. The rest of the day can be a bit hectic between classes but having this time first thing in the morning to speak with the students really starts my day in the best way possible.


my favorite moment of the day is when I get to lay down and relax or do something that I want to do.


My favorite moment of the day is when I get to go to bed.


Being surrounded by students and staff. I truly love my job.


ATA class. It feels like a family in there.


Having dinner with my family.


hanging with friends


"Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.” —William Arthur Ward


 

Describe your favorite person and list all of that person’s good qualities.


I have a few favorite people :) but I will focus on one person that is so special to me. This person is special because they are someone that is always there for me no matter what, always supports me, loves me unconditionally, and is one of the most kind and caring people I know.


First my mom obviously, then Mrs. Mcbrierty and Ms. Murray. They're just amazing and always help me, and also Ms. Olson.


my step father because he has always been there for me no matter what


my mom is my favorite person, because she cooks and is nice


My favorite people are my mom and my dad because they both provided for the family. They care a lot for me and my sisters, and they work hard to keep the house running. (Me and my sister help to but not as much as they do.)


“Family is not an important thing. It’s everything.” – Michael J. Fox

My dad because he helps me with whatever I need and guides me in the right direction.


My favorite person in my life is my boyfriend and his good qualities are hes a sweetheart, hes my hero, he is patient, and he is willing to do anything for me.


As a person with Asperger's, my son has an unusual view on life. He notices things I miss, he is amazingly compassionate, and many things do not bother him at all. I remember one time, I saw someone treat him badly. When I later talked to him about it, he said, "he was just having a bad day."


Mrs. Neal: She is thoughtful and caring and has helped me so much to see the good in so many others.


My favorite person is my husband. He is caring, trustworthy, and cooks all of my meals.


My favorite PEOPLE know when: I need to be heard, I need to laugh, I need to feel valid, and I need my space. These PEOPLE (students, staff, family and friends) always seem to know what I need, even when I don't. They provide me with what I need so flawlessly.


Mrs. Neal. She's selfless, kind, talented, and an amazing teacher.


My mom: She is beautiful, kind, caring, strong willed, a fighter, independent, smart, and overall an amazing person.


My husband is my favorite person. He is creative, motivated, and always makes me laugh


family and friends funny and cool


 

Write about a random act of kindness from another person


My son's teacher took his class outside to repeat a fun outdoor science activity that he had missed because he was in quarantine when they first did it. She wanted him to experience it because she knew he would love it. This brightened his day and made him feel important.


holding open a door


When I had just moved to school at Central last year I was completely nervous, and really didn't want to be there, I felt uncomfortable honestly. Until this one girl in my advisory came up to me and talked to me and made friends with me, until I finally made my own little friend group.


I don't think I have ever been a recipient of a random act of kindness. I have had many acts of intentional kindness, which is even better.


A friend once gave Mrs. Neal and me a night's get away with Dinner and Lodging at the Lucerne Inn; out of the blue! They just wanted to provide us with an opportunity to relax for an evening.


I was going through the Dunkin Donuts drive through one day and someone bought my coffee for me. I paid it forward and bought the coffee of the person behind me.


My friend Sabrina brought me coffee on my birthday.


 


Write about something that cheers you up when you feel down


Something that cheers me up when I feel down is snuggles from my puppy. She knows when I am feeling down and will just come and lean on me. She always makes me feel better.


music


depressing music


youtube


The biggest thing that cheers me up when I feel down is going hunting.


Hanging out with friends


What cheers me up when I feel down is calling my boyfriend and hearing his voice, or doing a group call with my small friend group


If I feel down, I search for memes on a particular topic (pandemic, Math, Science, etc.). It always cheers me up.


Listening to music, drawing and reading. I know this is more than one thing, but sometimes I do them all simultaneously in random mixes. I listen to music and read or listen to music and draw. Listening to music has always helped me concentrate on what I'm doing at that point in time.


Talking to my friends


Spending time with family.


the thing that cheers me up when I am down is My friends that I play with online and in-person.


Chocolate.


Talking to my friends or watching a comfort movie.


Comedy and laughter. When I'm bummed, I usually listen to stand up comedy or Bill Burr. If that fails, Seinfeld or Curb Your Enthusiasm always do the trick.


when people make me laugh


 

List 5 things you are grateful for today


Today I am grateful for: Beautiful sky/clouds on the drive to work Silly songs to make us laugh dairy free egg nog family that loves me chatty students


my mom my education my school my teachers the ary and my sister


bed,house,food,internet,warmth


Being able to have food to eat having a roof over my head being able to have a education being able to hunt being able to own firearms


The rain today so we can not be in a drought anymore, music, comedy, books, and puppies.


My small friend group, my boyfriend, my life, my older siblings, and my education


Family, health, job, heated seat in car, and Amazon.com


1)My family - they has stuck by me in this time of need and I'm thankful for that. 2)My new and old friends - the new friends that I have made this year are making the long days worth it and my old friends just keep me sane. 3)All the teachers - without them we wouldn't be ale to learn anything new and different. I am also thankful for everything they are doing for the students now that COVID isn't letting up. 4)Today's technology - without this it would be difficult for anyone to communicate with each other. 5)Music - I'm grateful that there is music in my life to help distract me from the troubling times and to help me focus on my work.


1. My baby sister 2. My wonderful teachers that keep me on track for success 3. My friends that make me laugh 4. The life that I live the ups and the downs 5. Being a highschooler


family,friends, shelter, food,drinks


basketball, travis doughtey.my mom,jacob neumayer,dylan benner


My relationship with God My relationship with my wife My relationships with my children My relationships with my friends My relationships with my students (It's all about relationships)


my health, my family, my friends,my dog,water and food.


1. T.V. or Netflix 2. Home Ownership 3. Freedom to hunt 4. Salary 5. Family


health, friends, seasons, books, music.


life,food,friends,family,dog



 

Remember a success you had. Tell us about it, and also share who helped you reach it.


my mom because she told me to not stop


A success I had is working to be able to buy a brand new snowmobile.


A success I had In my lifetime was being able to present project in front of my classmates for the first time in a while. And the people who helped me reach that was my advisor Mr.Neely, my English teacher Mr.Furlong, my Spanish teacher Mrs. Gingras (aka Profe) and my guidance counselor Mr. Cowie


I successfully got a student to complete his requirements for graduation when even he didn't think he could. It could not have been done without the effort of the student and the support of his family.


In 2018 I was selected as one of 50 music educators from the nation for School Band and Orchestra magazine's annual "50 Music Educators Who Make A Difference" publication. While this seemed to most as a success of mine it would not have been possible without the outstanding efforts of students along the way as well as the people who educated and mentored me. Students every year make the greatest difference in our schools and deserve every bit of credit for it. Mentors like Jack Clifford,Bruce Brown, Stan Buchanan, Don Stratton, Chip Farnham, Pat Michaud and Jerry Bates helped me to grow professionally and personally.


I graduated last year from UMO with my Master's degree. It took me 3 1/2 years to complete and I had to take one class a semester while working full time.


baseball by training


 

Write about a favorite hobby


basketball


reading


skateboarding


My favorite hobby ever is huntin deer.Well let's say I like to hunt every thing. Me, my dad and sometimes my sister go out whenever we can. We hunt right out behind our house, I have only shot one deer but had many encounters up close. We are planning on bear baiting next year.


My favorite hobby is snowmobiling by far because I work hard to be able to afford that hobby and I get to be able to hang out with friends and explore the backcountry in Maine!!


My favorite hobby is singing or cheerleading


Writing and creating.


I enjoy making cards. The supplies are fun: markers, papers, punches, washi tape, stickers, glue, glitter, etc. I make cards to brighten a person's day as well as for gifts.


playing sports


basketball for sure definitely releases my emotions and makes me happy


I LOVE snowmobiling. I feel disconnected for a bit from the world I usually live in and love seeing the outdoors in winter. I might go a little fast sometimes too; but not too fast!


a favorite hobby of mine is playing games with my friends or just talking to them.


Soccer.... or golf


I like photography. I love creating beautiful pictures for other people and making them happy.


I love to read fiction books, it is my way of escaping from the world sometimes.


baseball, it's fun to play


 

Write about something you are grateful for with your work, school or personal life


I am grateful for my students that despite all the challenges this year- continue to work hard, make me laugh, and maintain a positive attitude!


I'm grateful for all the opportunities


passing middle school


I am grateful for always having something to eat, being able to go and talk to my parents about anything, being able to hunt and fish, go to school.


Something I am grateful for is having my dad there to haul my excavator around to different jobs so I can make money.


Something I'm grateful for is having the opportunity to attend school at Nokomis and recieve my best possible education


I am grateful to have a job that I enjoy. I wake up in the morning excited about what the new day will bring. I feel I am useful and a part of a big "machine" that helps people.


The support that the teachers are giving are a huge thing that I'm grateful for. In all of my classes the teachers are very supportive and are willing to help you if you need it. They give feedback on everything and are flexible because of everything that is happening. A note for the teachers -- THANK YOU for everything you do!! Everything you do is registered by us students and we are grateful for what you do for us!


im grateful for having close friends down in rockland that i hang with and have fun tie with


I am grateful for the welcome and support that I have had to this school community from all involved; family, friends, colleagues, students and parents. It feels like home.


My colleagues. They are so helpful.


Well, I'm fortunate enough to work at Warrior Nation during the school day. It blows my mind that this is my "job" because it doesn't feel like work. I appreciate the kindness of our students and staff, and I'm grateful to have Mrs. Nadeau as a leader.


I am grateful for the teachers that have supported me since my freshman and sophomore years, who continue to do that even if they don't have me in class.


I am grateful for this school years grades because I am paying close attention to my work which has gotten me to have all a's and b's this first quarter.


friends when they make me laugh


 

Write about something you accomplished today, and how you feel now


I did all my work in class


eating food


I got the problem of the day correct in math today and its finally starting to make sense and I feel very accomplished about that because im not very good at math.


Something I accomplished today was starting my english paper and I feel like I'm going to do great and feel great about my final product


I finished some work I had to do for a Science class and now it is ready for the students. I feel good that I was able to cross that off my list.


This morning I wasn't sure whether I would get my 2k steps in before heading to work. I've made it a goal to reach at least 2k before heading to work. I slept in, oops. However, I was able to reach 2k before walking out the door this morning, and I feel energized and read for the day.


Today I shared a vision for how our music program can still impact our community even though we cannot have live performances at this time. I feel so proud of how the students responded and how they want to help make a positive difference in our local community.


I taught three different English classes.


I have successfully run 50 miles since November 1st, and am striving to run another fifty before December 1st.


went to classes and did work


 

Write about something someone else did to make you happy


gave me something


My dad redid the whole garage so we finally have heat in their so me and all my friends can work in their this winter.


Back in August I got broken up with over text and my two best friends found out about it so they took it upon themselves to randomly show up at my house and take me out for the day to keep my mind off of things


Someone who knows about my card making hobby, gave me some supplies she found at Goodwill By The Pound.


Some students wrote a kind note to me recently on my whiteboard and it made me smile. It actually made my day!


I'm currently taking a course on career counseling, and I've been learning about new strategies and tools. My husband and daughter agreed to be my guinea pigs with a reflection activity. After the activity, I was discouraged because it didn't work out the way I was hoping for. My husband gave me some feedback and ideas for how to make the activity work more smoothly--especially for young adults. Thanks, shmoopy!


My husband rubs my feet when I get home from work sometimes. He knows I get stressed and doesn't ask for anything in return.


I listened to some great music.


watching the giants win



 

Write about something you did to make someone happy today


I always compliment my homies


I hugged them


I vacuumed so my mom doesn't have to do it when she gets home from work.


I wrote my boyfriend a very long paragraph to wake up to today


The day is young so I do not know If I have made someone happy yet. On a different day, I made someone happy by helping to decorate their space.


I played music over the sound system before the start of school and it helped to brighten the mood in the main hallway.


I make pumpkin chocolate chip cookies for the Old Town Fire Department because that is where my husband works. They love them and appreciate them because they work 24 hour shifts and don't get to eat dinner most days.


I played with our foster puppy so she would leave my old dog alone, poor girl.


I joked around with my teacher and classmates so we all could have a laugh.


make them laugh


 

Write about a pet and what makes him/her special.


my dog ziggy had him 8 years


my cat link is like a dog.


my cat is very nice


My 6 year old yellow lab saylor she is special to me because she always is up to play or fetch.


My dog, his name is Kodi and he sleeps a lot, he is three years old and he was a rescue dog.


I am my cat's least favorite person in the family. She ignores me when the others are around. BUT when we are home alone, she acts like I am the only person on earth. Apparently, ours is a secret love.


my cat Peppermint patty


Max is my dog. Max is so energetic and loves to lick me and have me throw his ball for him to fetch. He just loves being around me which is a nice feeling.


my dog Dusty, he is special because he always follows me and whenever I lay down in my bed he always follows me and lay down with me.


Lola. My pup. Best dog ever.


My fish are special because they have distinct personalities.


I love my dog Izzy she is special because she has two different colored eyes and she had spots but only on her ears.


my dog, he's funny and fat


 

One of the best experiences of my life was… I am grateful for that experience because…


my best life experience was joining JROTC it will help me reach the marines


is getting help through school


One of the best experiences is getting hired by Bill perry which he owns a gravel pit a farm and a generator shop. That was such an amazing experience because I got to drive farm equipment and learn how to do that and also I worked on the machinery at the pit and worked on the tractor engines at the farm also I helped install a couple generators the best experience was working on the machinery because I know so much more about working on equipment and have alot more confidence tearing something apart and fixing it.


One of the best experiences in my life was when I made the varsity cheer team my freshman year at dexter for fall cheerleading. I am grateful for that because it made me feel like I can achieve my goals.


One of the best experiences of my life has been being a parent. I am grateful for the experience because it has taught me patience, perseverance, and perspective.


Performing as a vocalist/lead in front of an audience for the first time. I've always been incredibly self-conscious of my singing, and I never thought to pursue it. I assumed it was like the early episodes of American Idol: I sounded good to myself, but the reality was quite different. Of course, my first show was in front of 200+ people (and Bangor Daily recorded it and played it during a segment on the show...). This gave me the confidence to explore music more publically.


joining sports because it showed me some self worth


probably joining a new basketball team even tho there 2 hours away they've helped me with happiness and the coach just took me in and im grateful for that


One of my best experiences of my life was when I went to Spain. I went in high school on a school trip. I saw a bull fight. It was bloody and violent and loud, but awesome! It is something I would never usually get to experience and it was interesting to see sports in another country.


Failing. Yep, I said it. Failing. I went through high school working hard, and having good grades, but it developed an ego in me that I didn't realize I had. When I failed physics in college, it really hit home that I was not as smart as I thought I was, I was not putting in the effort I needed to be putting in, (because what I had always done had always worked) and the fact that my professor made me repeat his course and wouldn't just let me "get by" really put my ego in check. When you think your teachers are "failing you", think about what we are trying to teach you. Is it your ego that needs to be checked? Are you really doing all you can?


Going to Boston with my best friend. I am thankful because her mom was kind enough to take me and my parents were kind enough to pay for it. It was an unforgettable experience.


One of the best experiences in my life was helping out at the Jackson Food Pantry, I am grateful for this experience because I was able to help people in my community and it was overall just a very eye opening opportunity.


pitching in the championship game


 

List at least 5 things you like about yourself.


my style my shoes my looks my gap my skills


I'm nice,helpful,caring,loving,working


Love to hunt, live in etna, I go to NRHS, favorite food is steak, I'm in 9th grade


Hard working when I set my mind to something I can do it very independent im a simple person I like that I don't play very many video games I'd rather be in the garage


My personality, my eyes,my hair, my grades and my natural hair color


Creativity, Compassion, Patience, Integrity, and Problem Solving Abilities


eyes,hair,shyness,hight,my choices


my caringness, ethletics, toughness,sweet,shy


I am loyal I am friendly I am helpful I am committed I am creative


I'm organized (OCD organized). I have a good work ethic. I am a good baker. I am good at most sports (soccer, golf, softball, basketball, ski racing, kickball, etc). I am a really fast typer. I am the best Christmas present buyer.


I am strong, kind, caring, weird, and positive.


athletic,funny,cool


 

Write about something good you saw in your community.


nice


People doing community service


I saw a baby look at my niece and smile and she wouldn't stop smiling all day


Recently, a family got together and split firewood for a retired farmer.


Numerous times I have seen this community come to the aid of individuals when there is a need. I cannot single out one because it happens frequently. When someone has a great need, this community responds with love and compassion and helps to meet the need in some way.


Stuff the Cupboards!


when people pick us things in the community

 

Have a happy Thanksgiving!



49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page